University of Cyprus: Young Universities for the Future of Europe Alliance becomes a legal entity

The University of Cyprus is one of the 10 Universities of the Alliance

At the meeting of the Strategy Board of the Alliance of Young Universities for the Future of Europe (YUFE), on 29 February 2024 at the University of Antwerp, the statutes for the creation of the legal entity of the Alliance as an international non-profit organisation were signed. This agreement marks an important step and a new chapter for the YUFE Alliance, reinforcing the commitment of the 10 universities that make up the Alliance to promote cooperation and innovation among European universities. It is noted that the University of Cyprus was actively involved in the design and creation of the international non-profit organisation.

The YUFE Strategy Board consists of the Rectors/Presidents of the ten universities of the Alliance, representatives of the two associate members, and the President and Vice President of the YUFE Student Forum. For the academic year 2023-2024, the elected president of the YUFE Student Forum is the fourth year student of Archaeology of the University of Cyprus, Andreani Karlettis.

On February 28th, a workshop at the University of Antwerp entitled “YUFE Stakeholders Event – the YUFE Ecosystem” was held, during which the Rector of the University of Cyprus, Professor Tasos Christofides, in a roundtable discussion on “Quadruple helix approach”, stressed the importance of cooperation between academia, decision makers, industry and society. He also highlighted the importance of basic research in the progress of society and the well-being of citizens. It is noted that the University of Cyprus coordinates the Horizon 2020 YUFERING project, for the development of research, innovation and knowledge exploitation strategies and policies of the European University YUFE.

What is the YUFE Alliance?

The YUFE alliance is one of the 51 European University Alliances for the development and implementation of a new model of a European University. The YUFE alliance consists of ten European universities with strong research activities in several European countries. The Alliance, together with its two partners, aims to bring about a radical change in European higher education, establishing the new European University as the leading model of a new, open European university and as a unique ecosystem connecting universities with communities. YUFE is based on collaboration between higher education institutions, the public and private sectors and citizens across Europe.

The YUFE Alliance is geographically diverse and includes universities, cities and companies.

The partners of the YUFE Alliance are:

  • University of Cyprus – Cyprus
  • University of Maastricht – The Netherlands
  • Carlos III University of Madrid – Spain
  • University of Antwerp – Belgium
  • University of Bremen – Germany
  • University of Eastern Finland
  • Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun – Poland
  • University of Rijeka – Croatia
  • University of Essex – United Kingdom
  • Sorbonne Nouvelle University – France

YUFE partners are:

  • Adecco France Group
  • ETS Global


Source: University of Cyprus | Latest News (