The Cyprus Institute: Renewal of MoU Strengthens Collaborative Research Efforts Between CyI and Geological Survey Department

On Thursday, September 14, 2023, The Cyprus Institute (CyI) and the Geological Survey Department (GSD) reaffirmed their commitment to advancing knowledge in the fields of water management, environmental science, geo-sciences, and archaeological studies.

In a testament to the enduring spirit of cooperation between the two organizations a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), originally signed in 2017, was renewed solidifying the dedication to collaborative research and setting the stage for exciting common future endeavors.

The purpose of the MoU is to facilitate the exchange of scientific and technical knowledge, joint research pursuits, access to equipment and infrastructure, and support education and research. The renewal of the MoU holds special importance for CyI’s research advancement, strengthening its commitment to collaboration and support for government initiatives. The ongoing partnership with the Geological Survey Department transcends institutional boundaries and promotes shared research interests, underscoring the commitment of both institutions in advancing knowledge. Through collaborative efforts in the fields of water, archaeomaterial studies, environmental science and geo-sciences, the two organizations tackle contemporary global challenges, benefiting both and society as a whole.

The MoU signing ceremony took place at The Cyprus Institute’s premises in Athalassa. Signing the MoU on behalf of the Geological Survey Department was its Director, Mr. Christodoulos Hadjigeorgiou, and on behalf of The Cyprus Institute, its President, Prof. Stavros Malas.

Also present at the meeting were Senior Geological Officer and Head of the Engineering Geology and Geohazards Section, Dr. Zomenia Zomeni; Senior Geological Officer and Head of the Hydrogeology and Drilling Section, Dr. Christos Christofi; Senior Geological Officer and Head of Geological Mapping Section, Dr. Efthimios Tsiolakis; Geological Officer of the Geochemical Laboratory, Dr. Andreas Zisimos; CyI Vice President of Operations, Dr. Michalis Yiangou; CyI Assistant Vice President of Policy and Internal Communications, Mrs. Eleni Sophocleous; EEWRC Assoc. Prof. Adriana Bruggeman; EEWRC Associate Research Scientist, Dr. Hakan Djuma, and STARC Associate Research Scientist, Dr. Maria Dikomitou-Eliadou.

Following the MoU signing ceremony, the GSD delegation was given a guided tour of selected CyI facilities, including the Unmanned Systems Research Laboratory (USRL), the BioMERA MicroCT Facility, and the Water & Soil Laboratory.

Source: The Cyprus Institute | News (