University of Thessaly

The University of Thessaly was founded in 1984 and has elected the first Rectorate Board in 1998. Its administrative and academic centre is in the city of Volos. In order to serve the needs of the region of Thessaly, its first Departments were based on agricultural, educational and technological sciences. In its initial phase of organization and operation there have been eight Departments, seven of them in Volos and one, the School of Medicine, in Larissa. Since 1984 and onwards the University of Thessaly has been gradually growing with new Departments in the four biggest cities of the region of Thessaly, Volos, Larissa, Trikala and Karditsa. Its present academic structure consists of eighteen (18) Departmentssix (6) Faculties and the School of Lifelong Learning. They UTh was founded in 1984. The first Departments started fully operating in 1988 and by the end of 2000-01 there grew 16. In 2013, two (2) more Depts were added  with the integration of Lamia (prior University of Sterea Ellada) and the last addition is the newly formed School of Lifelong Learning that was established last year.

The main mission of the University of Thessaly is the promotion of scientific knowledge through research and the contribution to the cultural and economic development of the local community and wider society. It is known for its excellent research performance and outstanding scientific achievements, in accordance with the international standards. Within the University operate over 170 excellent equipped Laboratories and clinics, availing a number of well trained researchers covering services and research needs of the different Departments and Research Units, i.e. Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Biochemistry, Food, Agriculture, Energy, Environment and Technological crowd and Educators specialties. The members of the academic and research staff participate in European research networks and numerous innovative research projects in the EC.

Emphasis has been given to the bond between the University of Thessaly and the local society. This bond is further supported by the operation of the University Hospital of Larissa which covers the medical needs of the whole region of Thessaly. The University brings also students in contact with the labour market through its support offices and it encourages a great deal of social activities and public lectures on various issues held by qualified academic staff. Since May 2009 there has also been a significant cooperation between the University and the National Radio of Volos for the organization of radio broadcasts, which have a main impact in the local and wider society. Further that, the Research Committee of the University of Thessaly is the intermediate link of the postponed research at the University to the regional and the worldwide production and markets. The research support office together with the technology transfer office, have a clear focus on promoting research and innovation, undertaking any initiative necessary to strengthen cooperation with institutions and organizations. The support of entrepreneurship leads to: proactive regional development, the introduction of our graduates into the market, the support and the development needs of the country and the dissemination of new knowledge for the exploitation of research results that drive business innovation.

Student life in the University of Thessaly is also rather intense. The students have established well-organised associations which are highly active in the fields of sports and culture.

Today the University of Thessaly hosts 10.846 undergraduate students, 2.092 postgraduate students and 1.309 PhD students. It also avails 438 members of teaching and research staff, 32 members of teaching staff with a temporary teaching contract, 267 members of administrative staff and 97 members of Special Technical Laboratory Staff.

EU External Funding for the Year 2016: €6.581.004

Contact Person: Prof. Georgios Petrakos – Rector UTh (Department of Planning and Regional Development)

Contact Email:

Contact Phone: Rector’s Office: +30.2421074501 —  Secretary: Makrigianni Maro +30 2421074502 — Secretary: Moiannou Maria   +30 2421074515